It Just Has To Be Delicious

UPDATE – Kailis Fish Cafe has now permanently closed. A new restaurant called Island Market is located here.

Trigg Island Cafe used to be one of my favourite places. It was fairly expensive, but I liked it because the fish and the ribs were consistently good, and the location is right on the beach which makes it an ideal place to take visitors to watch the sunset while they dine. When it changed to Kailis Fish Cafe, I thought that it might end up being a very canteen style place where you eat the fish and chips out of paper, and that the ambience would be ruined.

Kailis Trigg Beach Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

We came here on the off chance one midweek evening, not knowing what to expect. We were pleasantly surprised to find that the ambience was not a lot different, and that ribs were still on the menu.

I chose the fisherman’s basket:

Fishermans basket

Fishermans basket

This consisted of scallops, prawns and snapper with chips and pickled onions and a tartare sauce.

It was nice, but not the best I have tasted.

I chose a salad to accompany it which was basic, and also okay:

Salad

Salad

My companion chose ribs which were not a patch on the previous Trigg Island ribs. The ribs had not been marinated long enough and were only half coated in sauce. They were nice but not special.

Ribs

Ribs

The resulting bill was still moderately expensive, and I don’t think I’ll be rushing back. The food was fairly average. I know that I can get better fish and chips and ribs elsewhere.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

